Okay, I’ll Admit…

I’ll keep it sweet and simple, for your sake and mine. Dating sucks! Yes, it can be fun and you’ll have funny memories to laugh with your friends about AFTER THE FACT!

But ultimately it seems like you are left with a hand full of let downs and possibly new triggers.

#Handlewithcaution

#treadlightly

#LITERALLY

Being a person that is extremely particular about a lot of things, it takes a lot for me to actually be interested and stay interested in someone. It definitely takes time but bay bay, when I’m there… I’m there. Even with my friends I would say I have deep connections with all of them (not my associates but my actual friends), to the point I consider them family. There is no in-between for me.

While it takes a moment for me to start caring for someone on that level nonetheless once I do my feelings are involved full throttle. The problem is, there are those individuals who do not know how or choose not to communicate because it makes them uncomfortable… or heck maybe they just don’t care to.

So when something changes on their end (their feelings, their outlook on you’alls situation) they just fall back and slowly disappear. #goghost.

Again it sucks but it happens to the best of us.

If this hasn’t happened to you. God bless you!

With time, life practice and overall growth as a person, I have become a fairly good communicator. I like to address issues sooner than later no matter how nervous they make me. Mostly because I know the alternative to this is to suppress it, possibly explode or continuously carry around unexpressed feelings. I know that if I don’t get it out, I will constantly think about it over and over again. When people decide to disappear the only options are the latter two.

So imagine how the magical act of guys going ghost affects/ed me. I hate it. Lol

After talking through my thoughts and feelings about my journey to a friend, I was given some good insight that I will leave you with.

Dating is not the same as being in a long-term relationship. Dating is the time frame in which you and the other person are getting to know each other –possibly going out to eat, going bowling, having a game night, going fishing ect.

During this period, two individuals are figuring out if they want to progress things into a long-term relationship.

And if we are being honest, he/she or both parties may be dating more than one person at a time being there is no commitment within the dating stage.

This must be kept in mind.

So if you are anything like the emotional zodiac sign of a cancer, this part is paramount. Again, dating is not the same as a long-term relationship. It is the transit ride to a long-term relationship and sometimes the transit runs out of gas before getting there. And sometimes, the tires go flat, or pop, or the engine blows- all kinds of crazy things. The point is, it’s important to approach dating as such…just dating. Therefore, it doesn’t feel like you are laying to rest your new puppy that somehow got ahold of chocolate every time the transit doesn’t make it to the “great destination.”

Talk to me in the comments below, I want to hear your thoughts. Until next time beautiful beings. –Courtney B.

4 thoughts on “Okay, I’ll Admit…

  1. I love this post, it’s so honest and REAL! No one ever talks about the bad side of dating and I thank you for this new look on it!

    Like

    1. I am now in a place where I am able to recognize the GOOD and the bad because at first if it didn’t work… it was automatically terrible, horrible. lol but Thanks to you for keeping ya girl on track. I appreciate the wisdom you share with me and in turn I am able to write pieces like this! Love you.

      Like

  2. Love the take on this subject. I believe a relationship is 1. friends 2. benifits. 3. Commitment .. a friend family or other is all forms of relationships. So dating with out commitment isn’t a real relationship. So I think u hit it on the nail with this post.

    Like

    1. Yay! Thank you so much. I know a lot of people have different perspectives on the matter and how they define dating but this is one that stuck with me and if I can be honest… helped me to not aide in getting my feeling hurt. I appreciate you reading!

      Like

Leave a comment